Minimum Requirements to apply for a Michigan Commercial Driver’s License
These are the minimum requirements you need to complete to get your Michigan commercial driver’s license.
- Age Requirement: You must be age 21 to drive a commercial motor vehicle across state lines (interstate). If you are between the ages of 18 and 21, you will receive a license with a K restriction allowing you to drive a commercial motor vehicle in Michigan only.
- The federal regulations and Michigan law require all drivers who have a Commercial Driver License (CDL) to provide proof of Legal Presence in the United States. Click the link for Acceptable Proof of Citizenship or Legal Presence.
- To transport hazardous materials in a quantity that requires the vehicle to be marked or placarded, you must be age 21 or older, present proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residence, and present a Federal Security Threat Assessment.
- Meet Secretary of state driver record requirements.
- Pass the required knowledge and vision tests. The knowledge test is needed to obtain a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP). The CLP allows you to practice driving the vehicle type that you wish to test for and is needed to take the skills test.
- Pay the CDL fees.
- Schedule and pass the CDL skills test.
- There is a 14 day waiting period after you get your CLP to take the skills test and convert your CLP into CDL.
- The skills test must be scheduled at least two days in advance.
- Unless exempt, you need to comply with federal or state medical/physical requirements before receiving a CDL. Complete an application that includes a statement certifying that you meet medical and driver qualifications before taking the skills test.
Contact information for Medical Requirements for Michigan Commercial Drivers License.
- Intrastate (in Michigan) medical requirements and state commercial vehicle contact:
Michigan Trucking Association
1131 Centennial Way
Lansing, MI 48917
- Interstate (across state lines) medical requirements and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, contact:
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA )
219 W. Allegan St., Room 219
Lansing, Michigan 48933
- School bus medical requirements contact:
Michigan Department of Education
Office of School Support Services
P.O. Box 30008
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Reasons you cab be disqualified from getting a Michigan Commercial Drivers License.
- Inability to make the necessary certifications contained on the CDL Certification Form, BFS-103 (Appendix A of the Michigan Commercial Driver License Manual).
- If you have a license in more than one state, you will not be eligible.
- A current suspension, revocation, denial, or cancellation of your license.
- Conviction of any six-point violation in the 24 months immediately preceding application.
- A conviction for operating a motor vehicle while impaired in the 24 months immediately preceding application.
- A suspension or revocation in the 36 months immediately preceding application.
- Suspensions for Failure to Appear in Court (FAC), Failure to Comply with a Judgment (FCJ), failure to appear for re-examination, financial responsibility, non-sufficient funds checks, and a suspension or revocation for a temporary medical condition do not disqualify an applicant for a CDL.
How Long Does it Take to Get a Michigan Commercial Driver’s License
Once the application process is complete, the Secretary of State will issue you a Temporary Operator’s Permit. The Michigan Commercial Driver’s License is valid for up to four years and arrives in the mail within two to three weeks.
Requirements to get an Enhanced Michigan Commercial License
Finally, If you want to be able to enter Canada or Mexico, you will need the enhanced version of the Michigan Commercial Driver’s License to click the highlighted link to see the additional requirements you need to get an enhanced license.