Michigan Minimum Requirements for Drivers of Ridesharing Companies Uber and Lyft
- Drivers must be at least 19 years old.
- Must have a valid driver’s license issued from Michigan or another state.
- A Driver can not have more than four moving violations or one major violation within the last three years.
- Drivers can not be listed on the National Sex Offender Public Website.
- Drivers can not have any felony convictions within the last five years.
LARA has the authority to audit background records of drivers at any time and other types of records, but not more than twice, annually.
How Michigan Regulates Uber and Lyft drivers
Michigan does not require a chauffeurs license to be an Uber or a Lyft driver. Michigan regulates ride services such as Uber and Lyft under the authority of LARA’s Corporations, Securities, and Commercial Licensing Bureau. Starting March 21, 2017, Michigan will regulate rideshare businesses defined as transportation network companies (TNC), the same as limousine and taxicab carriers, according to the Limousine, Taxicab, and Transportation Network Company Act (PA 345).
Minimum Uber requirements for all vehicles
- The model year 2005 or newer.
- Minimum of 5-7 Factory-Installed Seatbelts.
- 4-door car or minivan.
- Good condition with no cosmetic damage.
- No commercial branding.
- Pass the Uber vehicle inspection requirements.
Minimum Lyft requirements for all vehicles
- 2007 or newer
- Four doors
- 5-8 seats, including the driver’s
- Not on the list of ineligible subcompact vehicles
- Can not be a taxi or stretch limousine
- Not titled as salvage, non-repairable, rebuilt, or any other equivalent classification
Lyft minimum age requirements for drivers are 21 unless you drive in the following Michigan areas, then you will need to be 25.
- Ann Arbor
- Grand Rapids
- Northern Michigan
- Upper Peninsula
Click the link to find Lyft vehicle inspection locations.
What are Michigan Insurance Requirements for Uber and Lyft Drivers
Under Michigan regulations, the part of the trip at the time of an accident determines what type of insurance coverage is available. Drivers must have:
- $1 million in liability coverage for crashes that occur during a pre-arranged ride – that is, while the driver is transporting a passenger.
- $50,000 in liability coverage for collisions that happen between pre-arranged trips – that is, while the driver is waiting for the next customer.
Finally, click the link to find a more detailed explanation of Michigan’s Uber and Lyft insurance requirements.