New Michigan Teen Drivers Cell phone law
According to state law, Michigan teen drivers with restricted licenses won’t be able to use a cellphone while driving. It doesn’t apply to a voice-operated, or a hands-free system integrated into a vehicle.
The law affects Level 1 and Level 2 drivers under the state’s graduated licensing system. Level 1 is a learner’s license with the most restrictions; Level 2 drivers have restrictions on the number of passengers and on nighttime driving. A teen must be at least 17 and have at least six months of driving experience at Level 2 to qualify for a Level 3, or unrestricted, driver’s license. This law does not apply to 17-year-olds who advanced to level 3 (unrestricted) licensing.
Fines for cell phone violations by teens are up to $100 plus possible license suspension, at the discretion of local courts. The Michigan teen drivers probationary license period also could also be extended. No points.
Michigan teen drivers fines:
If a Michigan teen driver is caught by police the violations are considered civil infractions, it will be a primary offense, that means police can pull over the teens without any other cause.
- Text messaging outlawed for all drivers. Fines $100 (first offense) and then $200.
- Drivers under age 18 with Level 1 or 2 learner’s permits prohibited from use of cell phones. Fine $100 with a possible extension of license probationary period.
Exceptions for Michigan teen drivers to use cell phones:
- Reporting a traffic accident.
- Reporting a medical emergency.
- Serious road hazard.
- Situations in which a driver’s personal safety is in jeopardy or a crime.
Michigan teen drivers are not the only people that the recent law changes affect. In Detroit, drivers making cell phone calls must use hands-free devices. Click Michigan Texting Ban to get more information on what Michigan cities you can’t use a cell phone in while driving.
House Bill 4254: Amends distracted driving laws by adding school bus drivers to handheld cell phone ban for commercial drivers. Defines handheld cell phone use, including “reaching for a mobile phone.” This amendment means Drivers of commercial motor vehicles and school buses are also barred from using handheld cell phones. Fines for $100 (first offense) and then $200.
Finally, click the link to learn more information on how to Save on your Michigan car insurance.