What is Michigan Texting Law
Michigan texting Ban went into effect, which means that writing or reading texts while driving will be a primary offense, meaning police officers can pull drivers over if they see them typing while their vehicle is in motion.
Michigan Texting law states:
“A person shall not read, manually type, or send a text message on a wireless 2-way communication device that is located in the person’s hand or the person’s lap, including a wireless telephone used in cellular telephone service or personal communication service, while operating a motor vehicle that is moving on a highway or street in this state. “
What is the Michigan Fine for texting while Driving
The fine for Violators is $100 for a first offense and $200 for each additional offense. This law is a primary offense, which means police can pull you over and give you a ticket for only texting. Currently, 22 other states and the District of Columbia have texting bans while behind the wheel, and six states ban hand-held cell phones. This bill follows a federal ban issued by the federal government, which prohibits truck drivers and other commercial operators from texting while driving. They can face fines up to $2500.
Michigan Texting and cell phone laws
Michigan does not have a statewide cellphone law. However, Michigan does allow localities to determine their cellphone driving laws. You have to check with the local city that you visit to determine what their law is. Michigan’s biggest city (Detroit) passed a hands-free law in 2005, and it went into effect in 2006.
Detroit’s hands-free law makes it a civil infraction to use a hand-held mobile phone while operating a motor vehicle. The Detroit cell phone law is a secondary offense. Police cannot ticket a driver unless there is a primary driving offense, such as speeding or failure to yield.
The fine for the violation is not to exceed $100. There are exceptions for emergencies or if you are on duty public safety employees.
Michigan Texting map of states with texting laws
Finally, If you are driving in other states, Click States texting list to which states have a texting law.
For more information on Michigan Texting and cellphone use and the special rules that apply to teen drivers using cell phones, click the highlighted link.