What you need to get a Michigan Graduated Teen Drivers License
Michigan’s teen driver’s license training is split into two segments and is mandatory for all teen drivers under age 18.
Drivers will have to take a Segment 1 driver education class before the driver begins supervised driving. It requires a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction, a minimum of six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. And a minimum of four hours of observation time in a training vehicle. Before beginning Segment 1, a teen must be 14 years, eight months of age, and have parent/guardian permission.
Michigan young drivers age requirements
- The teen must be at least 14 years, eight months old to apply for the Level 1 license.
- Must have a Certificate of Completion for Segment 1
Drivers must present proof of:
- A Social Security number or letter of ineligibility
- U.S. citizenship Identity
- Michigan residency
- Parent/guardian signature required on the application
- Pass vision screening required by Secretary of State
Michigan teen Level 1 Driver Requirements
- Obtain Level 1 License at a Secretary of State branch office
- May only drive with licensed parent/guardian or designated licensed adult age 21 or older
- Parent/guardian or designated adult should sit in the front seat
- If driving with a designated adult, the driver should carry a signed letter of authorization from parent/guardian
Michigan Level 2 teen drivers Intermediate License
Segment 2 driver education begins after the driver has held a valid Level 1 License for at least three continuous months and has acquired 30 hours of driving experience time, including a minimum of two hours of night driving. Segment 2 includes a minimum of six hours of classroom instruction.
Michigan level 2 drivers license requirements
- The teen is at least 16 years old
- Meet physical and medical licensing standards
- Possessed a Level 1 License for six months
- Completed Segment 1 and 2 of an approved driver education program
- Passed a driving skills test and presented a skills test certificate
- Must show proof of legal presence. (Proof of a Social Security number, identity, and provide Michigan residency proof if you did not show it at Level 1.)
- Completed a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving time, including 10 hours at night
- Must be violation and suspension free, and have no at-fault crashes during the 90 days before applying for the Level 2 License
- Have a parent or legal guardian sign the application and certify the minimum 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience
Between midnight and 5 a.m., the teen must drive with a designated licensed adult over age 21 unless driving to and from employment
Michigan teen auto insurance discounts
State Farm, the biggest insurer of young adults, has an insurance discount program, has a safe driving called Steer Clear® Safe Driver Discount Program. State Farm also offers a good student program for teen drivers. To get more information on the different Michigan teen discounts available, go online to contact a Michigan Auto insurance Agent or call 248-277-4505.