Michigan Traffic Accident ReportDoes Michigan require you to file a Police Report for Accident

Yes, you need to file a police report for a car accident in Michigan if you’re involved in a car crash that results in death or injury or property damage of $1,000 or more. 

To satisfy the law’s requirements, you must “immediately” report that accident “at the nearest or most convenient police station, or to the nearest or most convenient police officer.”

Reasons why you Need to File a Michigan Police Report

  • Most Insurance Companies require a police report to determine fault when paying out a Michigan Mini-Tort Claim. Michigan Mini-Tort allows a vehicle owner to collect up to $1,000 for vehicle damage repair costs from the at-fault driver. This limit increases to $3,000 for accidents occurring after July 1, 2020. If you are partially at fault and the other driver is also partially at fault, you make collect a portion of these totals.
  • To make a claim with your insurance company, they will require you to File a police report for “uninsured motorist” or “underinsured motorist” benefits if the other party did not have auto insurance at the time of the accident.
  • Making a police report will have an official report on file with the State of Michigan.  This documentation is essential if the other at-fault party tries to dispute being at-fault or causing the accident. Take pictures to document the facts of the accident so the other driver cannot deny being in the accident.  Insurance companies may need this documentation to determine if they will waive your deductible if you have broadened collision.
  • You will need a police report to pursue a claim against the at-fault driver for your injuries.  The police report will be a requirement of the other parties’ insurance company to verify facts.
  • The insurance companies may need a police report to provide proof of loss. As an insured, it is your responsibility to provide requested documentation.  Failure to do this can result in the insurance company denying your claim. 

Where to order Michigan Traffic Accident Reports

You can order a Police report at the police station in the city where the accident took place.  The cost is for the report is $10.00, Two sites where you can order a traffic report online:

  • Request a copy of a Michigan Traffic Crash Report (UD-10) by visiting the Traffic Crash Purchasing System website.  
    • Ordering online, you must have either the date of the crash, driver’s license number, and driver’s date of birth
    • The Crash Number and date of the crash. 
  • You can order a report online from Clemis. Reports should be available 2 – 3 days after the incident. Purchase crash reports with Visa, MasterCard, and Discover via the Web site: The information you need to order the report is below.
    • Incident number, Driver/Owner/Passenger Date of Birth & Date of Crash Incident  (The Incident number is on the crash slip the police gives to you.)
    • Driver’s license number, Driver’s Date of Birth and Date of Crash Incident
  • Detroit Police Reports can be ordered online at Lexisnexis.
    • You must have the exact date of the accident
    • The cross streets where the accident happened
    • Valid ID
    • Cost of the Accident Report is $10.00 cash or money order (exact amount, no change provided)