What is Michigan motorcycle helmet law
Michigan helmet law went into effect on April 12, 2012, and allows motorcyclists to decide whether or not to wear a helmet if certain conditions apply. To legally not wear a helmet in Michigan, a motorcycle operator must:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits.
- Have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years or have passed an approved motorcycle safety course.
Michigan Motorcycle Passenger helmet requirements
Motorcycle passengers to not have to wear a helmet as long as they:
- They are at least 21 years old.
- Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits insurance in addition to the current insurance for the motorcycle operator.
Anyone younger than 21 years old still must wear a helmet approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation when operating or riding on a motorcycle. A moped operator, less than 19 years of age, shall wear a crash helmet.
Other Michigan Motorcycle requirements:
- A person operating a motorcycle over 35 miles per hour that does not have a windshield shall wear transparent goggles, eyeglasses, or a face shield that is shatter resistant, protecting their eyes against airborne materials and other road debris.
- Carrying Packages is prohibited. A moped or motorcycle operator shall not carry any package, bundle, or article that prevents the driver from keeping both hands upon the handlebars of the vehicle.
- A motorcycle shall have adequate seats and securely attached footrests or pegs for each designated seating position. Unless unable to do so because of a permanent physical disability, a passenger shall not ride on a motorcycle unless his or her feet can rest on the assigned foot rests or pegs.
For rates on your motorcycle insurance call 248-277-4505 or visit online, a Michigan Motorcycle insurance quote to get a quote today or click the link to get more information on Michigan motorcycle safety requirements.