What is Michigan Distracted Driving
Distracted driving is extremely dangerous and can cause personal injury and property damage. Drivers who use hand-held devices are four times as likely to get into crashes serious enough to injure themselves. Even with a hands-free device, multi-tasking while driving could have serious consequences.
You’ve seen it before; a vehicle near you is weaving in the traffic lane or traveling well below the speed limit. Chances are that the driver is not focused on the road.
Distracted driving statistics paint a grim picture: In 2014, an estimated 3,179 people were killed nationwide and an additional 431,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, there are three main types of distractions:
- Visual – taking your eyes off the road
- Manual – taking your hands off the wheel
- Cognitive – taking your mind off what you are doing
Michigan distracted driving isn’t just about phone calls or text messages.
Many activities that take your attention away from traffic can lead to accidents. Examples of distracted driving include:
- Adjusting a navigation system
- Retrieving a dropped item
- Talking on the phone
- Watching a video
Nearly half the U.S. states have restrictions against activities that cause distractions. Some states ban phone use in construction zones and school zones. Others place restrictions on novice drivers and operators of commercial vehicles, such as large trucks and school buses. Take the time to research the laws in your state and visit www.distraction.gov.
So, the next time you reach for the phone while driving, answer this question: Is this call important enough to risk hurting someone, or can it wait?
Michigan Distracted Driving Penalties:
Michigan’s texting law prohibits drivers from reading, manually typing or sending a text message while driving. Violating the texting law can be costly. Drivers first offense will have a fine of $100; subsequent offenses are $200. Some Michigan cities make it illegal to have a hand-held mobile phone while driving.
Finally, click Michigan Texting Ban for more information to see if your city is on the cell phone ban list.